lovingscd

Spreading the love one person at a time

Chicken soup is good for more than just your soul July 14, 2013

Chicken Soup

A couple of weeks ago I had a routine colonoscopy. Before the procedure I was doing well because of the SCD diet, no flare for more than a year.  After the prep-work, and a lot of biopsies I had a flare. This time I decided to fight the flare when it first appeared and not hope that it goes away on its own.

We decided to make chicken soup, hamburgers, and ginger tea for the weekend. We made up a good chicken soup that cooks for 3 hours and watched my diet. In two days the bleeding had stopped and the pain was going away. By the time I got on a plane five days later I was feeling fine and the flight did not cause any pain on landing.

Here is the chicken soup we made, it is similar to Elaine Gotschall’s Chicken soup recipe from “Breaking the Vicious Cycle”

Ingredients

  • Whole organic chicken ; cleaned, and cut enough to fit in your pot. Remove the skin to reduce the fat in the soup. Cut off the wing tips.
  • 10 carrots peeled and chopped into large chunks
  • 2-3 stalks of celery cut into pieces large enough to fish back out.
  • 2 large onions peeled and quartered
  • Parsley about 1/2 cup  rough chopped.
  • 1 tsp Salt
  • 1/2 tsp Pepper
  • 1/2 tsp Ginger

Directions

Find the largest pot you have. Place all the ingredients in the pot. Cover them with water and turn the pot on med-high.  Once the water starts boiling  turn it down to a simmer to keep it at a light boil. Let it simmer for 3 hours. Chicken will fall off the bone. Remove the chicken and let it cool. After the chicken is cool enough to touch, pick all the meat from the bones and shred it, then return the meat to the soup pot. Remove the onions, celery, and parsley. ( If you are not having a flare and are later in the SCD diet you can put these in a blender also but the extra fiber is not good during a flare.)   Place the carrots in a blender with some soup  and create a puree. Place the carrot puree back into the soup pot.  Stir the pot, because you know you love stirring the pot. Serve it hot.  It looks more like a carrot soup with chicken but it tastes great and will help reset your system.

Since starting the SCD diet I have learned that doctors are not trained to reduce your medicine and will discourage you from doing so. When I asked my GI about eventually stopping my medicine, a doctor I trusted compeletly, he asked me if I went to Vegas and gambled. He said that 1 in 1000 people would not flare if they stoped their medicine. I thought the SCD diet has gotten me this far and if I stop the medicine and I flare I can go back on the medicine. But if I do not try I will not know. Wish me luck as I reduce my meds slowly. If we do not listen to our bodies when they tell us we are well, then our only choice is to stay on medications and endure the side effects.

 

6 Responses to “Chicken soup is good for more than just your soul”

  1. Tracee Says:

    I am hosting a blog carnival this month with a grain-free bars theme. I’m hoping you may want to participate: http://mrsedsresearchandrecipes.blogspot.com/2013/07/go-ahead-honey-its-gluten-free-raising.html

    Tracee

  2. Anna Says:

    I just made soup very similar 🙂 sadly it’s not really helping me as much as I wish it would! I am off all meds but prednisone as I mentioned on twitter. I love your bakery – I wish you luck on coming off of meds completely and hope to be right there with you! I’ll be keeping track of your progress 🙂

    • mwelker42 Says:

      Thank you. Sorry to hear the prednisone drop cause you issues. I am not a doctor and please do not take this as advice, just how I do it. When I back down off prednisone I reduce 5 MG fro a week and wait fro my system to settle back to normal before I drop another 5mG. Sometimes it takes more than a week until I can drop again. Prednisone is evil good luck getting off.

  3. Jennifer Says:

    Yeah…my doctor didn’t want me to get off my meds either but I just decided it was what I wanted to do. I have not been on meds for the last year and a half and the diet has been what has kept me well. Best of luck!!
    Jennifer

    • mwelker42 Says:

      I am glad to hear you are doing good. I am off my meds since May of this year. I am feeling fine, and as long as I listen to my body about eating the wrong food I am doing great. Blood pressure has not been lower, Asthma has never been better.


Leave a Reply

